+94 11 5455455

Mobile Menu

Ministry of Power and Energy Launches “National Fuel Pass” to Streamline Fuel Distribution

The Ministry of Power and Energy recently announced the launch of the “National Fuel Pass” to provide the public a convenient and easily accessible solution to obtain fuel and facilitate an allocation-based fuel distribution method. Developed together with technology  partner, Information and Communication Technology Agency (ICTA), this solution has been implemented at all outlets managed by the Ceylon Petroleum Corporation and Lanka IOC.


To register for a Fuel Pass, visit http://fuelpass.gov.lk and follow the registration process, after which a unique Fuel Pass in the form of a QR code will be displayed – which can be saved on a mobile device or printed to be produced at fuel outlets. As per the newly introduced system, each vehicle, once registered for the Fuel Pass, will be allocated a weekly quota of fuel, which will be refreshed every Sunday night (any unutilised quota will not be carried forward).


Once the island-wide registration is completed, respective fuel quota will be allocated and the launch date of this programme will be announced by the Ministry of Power and Energy. Following which, in order to obtain fuel, simply produce the QR code at the fuel station, where the staff at the station will scan the QR code and validate the eligibility and allocation of fuel, and provide fuel within the available balance. Once the requested liter quantity is processed, users will receive a confirmation message on their registered mobile number.


In case a QR code is misplaced, users can login to http://fuelpass.gov.lk and enter the mobile number to retrieve the QR code or via SMS by typing Fuel QR Vehicle Number and sending it to 0766220000. Users can also check their fuel quota balance by visiting the website and logging in with their mobile number or via SMS by typing Fuel Bal Vehicle Number and sending it to 0766220000. Issuance of QR for special segments of vehicles will be announced with a separate procedure by the Ministry shortly.


Commenting, Hon. Kanchana Wijesekera, Minister of Power and Energy said, “We are pleased to introduce the ‘National Fuel Pass’ to streamline the distribution of limited fuel stocks island-wide, while also providing a systematic and convenient solution to the public amidst the prevailing fuel shortages. I am thankful to Ceylon Petroleum Corporation, Lanka IOC PLC, ICTA and our partners for coming together and developing this solution to facilitate this timely allocation-based fuel distribution method.”


Speaking on the initiative, Jayantha De Silva, Chairman of ICTA said, “We are extremely happy to be part of this national initiative together with the Ministry of Power and Energy, Ceylon Petroleum Corporation and Lanka IOC PLC. Our teams have supported this initiative by providing technical advice for the development of the National Fuel Pass. The National Fuel Pass is a timely platform launched to ease the hassle faced by the public.”


Commenting, Mohamed Uvais Mohamed, Chairman of Ceylon Petroleum Corporation said, “In view of the prevailing situation and to ensure the uninterrupted supply of fuel to the general public, the National Fuel Pass has been introduced. This system will ensure uninterrupted supply of fuel to all, by way of a prescribed maximum limit of fuel per week. We appreciate the cooperation from the public during these trying times and strongly advice to strictly adhere to the system so that everybody gets a fair chance in obtaining fuel and to reduce the long waiting hours.”


Speaking on the initiative, Manoj Gupta, Managing Director of Lanka IOC PLC said, “An Innovative step has been taken by the Ministry of Power & Energy ensuring Safety, Community Stewardship, Customer Satisfaction and Transparency in fuel distribution system of our nation. We at Lanka IOC, are happy to serve all with the best service, by joining hands with this initiative. The “National Fuel Pass” would bring respite to our people presently going through difficult times and waiting for fueling needs. Download your QR code to save time and meet your fuel requirement.”

Photo caption (L-R)

Hon. Kanchana Wijesekera MP – Minister of Power and Energy (cnetre) addressing the media at the launch of the National Fuel Pass. Also in photograph (L-R) Prabath Perera, ASP (IT), Sri Lanka Police, Mohamed Uvais Mohamed, Chairman, Ceylon Petroleum Corporation, , Jayantha De Silva – Chairman, ICTA and Manoj Gupta – Managing Director, Lanka IOC.